Wednesday, December 17, 2008

World Team Tennis, WTT Pro League, sets 2009 dates

World Team Tennis, WTT Pro League, sets 2009 dates

The 34th season of the World Team Tennis Pro League will kicks off on July 2 2009.

The regular season will be from July 2-22, and concludes with the WTT Championship Weekend, July 24-26. The League is expected to announce the lineup of marquee players in early February with full team rosters finalized at the WTT Player Draft on March 31 in Miami.

The New York Buzz are the defending WTT Champions.
Top names from the 2008 season included Venus Williams, Serena Williams, Anna Kournikova, John McEnroe, Martina Navratilova, John McEnroe and doubles team of Mike and Bob Bryan.

Team matches consist of five events, with one set each of men's singles, women's singles, men's doubles, women's doubles and mixed doubles. The first team to reach five games wins each set. A nine-point tiebreaker is played if a set reaches four all. One point is awarded for each game won. If necessary, Overtime and a Supertiebreaker are played to determine the winner of the match.

Advanta is the presenting sponsor of the WTT Pro League and the official business credit card of World TeamTennis. Official WTT Pro League sponsors for the 2009 season are FirmGreen Energy, GEICO and Wilson Racquet Sports.